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SUMMARY 

Status of Cases – 2021* 

Complaints Received from National Insurance Crime Bureau and Constituents 

Complaints Received in 2021 2573 

Complaints Declined for Prosecution before SLED Investigation 2198 

Total Matters Pending Review, Investigation or Prosecution as of 12/31/2021 683 

Complaints Opened to SLED For Further Investigation Before Prosecution 

Complaints Opened by SLED in 2021 107 

Number of Arrests by SLED in 2021 16 

Complaints under Investigation by SLED as of 12/31/2021 224 

*This report contains a combination of statistics supplied by the South Carolina Department of
Insurance, the Office of the Attorney General, and SLED.
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Disposition of Cases 

Cases disposed by Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) 3 

Individuals convicted in 2021 (in General Sessions Court) 9 

Number of counties in which convictions were obtained 3 

Total Restitution ordered $268,585.06 

Monies Ordered and/or Collected Pursuant to Civil Dispositions 

CIVIL – MOU’s AMOUNT 

Fines Ordered $750.00 

Fines Collected $750.00 

TOTAL $750.00 

Monies Ordered and/or Collected Pursuant to Court Order 

COURT ORDERED – RESTITUTION AMOUNT 

TOTAL $268,585.06 

COURT ORDERED – FINES AMOUNT 

TOTAL $772.50 

TOTAL COURT ORDERED MONIES AMOUNT 

Restitution Ordered $268,585.06 

Court Fines $772.50 

TOTAL $269,357.56 
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2021 CASES OPENED BY SLED BY REGION 

Referrals are sent to the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) in order to decide if a 
complaint meets the elements of an insurance fraud crime.  During 2021, SLED opened 107 cases 
deeming them necessary for further investigation.  As the chart below indicates, these cases were 
received from all areas of the state: 

REGION NUMBER OF CASES PERCENT OF TOTAL 

Piedmont 14 13% 

Midlands 16 15% 

Pee Dee 29 27% 

Low Country 48 45% 

TOTAL 107 
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2021 SLED ARRESTS BY REGION 

During 2021, the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) had 16 arrests related to 
Insurance Fraud.  As the chart below indicates, these arrests were made in two regions of the state: 

REGION NUMBER OF ARRESTS PERCENT OF TOTAL 

Piedmont 2 12% 

Midlands 0 0% 

Pee Dee 14 88% 

Low Country 0 0% 

TOTAL 16 
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2021 COMPLAINTS RECEIVED BY TYPE OF FRAUD 

The fraud complaints received during 2021 by the Insurance Fraud Division consisted of the 
following types of fraud: 

TYPE OF FRAUD NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS PERCENTAGE OF TOTAL 

Auto 1515 59% 

Disability 16 0.62% 

Health/Medical 53 2% 

Life 34 1% 

Personal/Commercial 392 15% 

Premium 416 16% 

Unemployment 8 0.31% 

Worker’s Comp 69 3% 

Other 70 3% 

TOTAL 2573 

Breakdown of Complaints by Type of Fraud Chart – 2021 
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2021 COMPLAINTS BY COUNTY 

ABBEVILLE COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 5 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 1 
Premium 1 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 7 

AIKEN COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 35 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 1 
Life 1 

Personal/Commercial 10 
Premium 12 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 2 

Other 2 
TOTAL 63 

ALLENDALE COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 12 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 1 
Premium 0 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 13 
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ANDERSON COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 39 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 14 
Premium 12 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 3 

Other 3 
TOTAL 71 

BAMBERG COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 4 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 0 
Premium 1 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 5 

BARNWELL COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 7 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 2 
Premium 0 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 1 

Other 0 
TOTAL 10 
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BEAUFORT COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 32 
Disability 1 

Health/Medical 2 
Life 1 

Personal/Commercial 10 
Premium 19 

Unemployment 1 
Worker’s Compensation 4 

Other 1 
TOTAL 71 

BERKELEY COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 53 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 2 

Personal/Commercial 12 
Premium 19 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 4 

Other 2 
TOTAL 92 

CALHOUN COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 3 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 0 
Premium 2 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 5 

Page 15Page 15



CHARLESTON COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 159 
Disability 3 

Health/Medical 4 
Life 4 

Personal/Commercial 34 
Premium 39 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 11 

Other 6 
TOTAL 260 

CHEROKEE COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 7 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 1 
Premium 6 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 1 

Other 2 
TOTAL 17 

CHESTER COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 10 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 1 
Premium 3 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 1 
TOTAL 15 
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CHESTERFIELD COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 15 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 1 

Personal/Commercial 2 
Premium 3 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 21 

CLARENDON COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 10 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 1 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 0 
Premium 4 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 15 

COLLETON COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 23 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 1 
Premium 4 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 1 

Other 0 
TOTAL 29 
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DARLINGTON COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 21 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 5 
Premium 7 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 1 

Other 1 
TOTAL 35 

DILLON COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 21 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 1 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 3 
Premium 4 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 29 

DORCHESTER COUNTY 
Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 

Automobile 58 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 3 
Life 5 

Personal/Commercial 19 
Premium 9 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 2 

Other 7 
TOTAL 103 
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EDGEFIELD COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 6 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 0 
Premium 1 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 7 

FAIRFIELD COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 8 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 1 

Personal/Commercial 1 
Premium 1 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 2 

Other 0 
TOTAL 13 

FLORENCE COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 71 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 3 
Life 1 

Personal/Commercial 11 
Premium 21 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 6 

Other 2 
TOTAL 115 
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GEORGETOWN COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 20 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 6 
Premium 2 

Unemployment 1 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 29 

GREENVILLE COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 91 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 6 
Life 1 

Personal/Commercial 32 
Premium 39 

Unemployment 1 
Worker’s Compensation 5 

Other 5 
TOTAL 180 

GREENWOOD COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 12 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 1 
Life 0 

Worker’s Compensation 1 
Personal/Commercial 4 

Premium 3 
Unemployment 0 

Other 1 
TOTAL 22 
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HAMPTON COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 11 
Disability 1 

Health/Medical 1 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 0 
Premium 0 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 1 

Other 0 
TOTAL 14 

HORRY COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 95 
Disability 2 

Health/Medical 3 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 30 
Premium 18 

Unemployment 1 
Worker’s Compensation 1 

Other 3 
TOTAL 153 

JASPER COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 17 
Disability 1 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 2 
Premium 6 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 1 

Other 0 
TOTAL 27 
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KERSHAW COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 26 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 2 
Premium 7 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 1 
TOTAL 36 

LANCASTER COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 24 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 6 
Premium 6 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 2 

Other 0 
TOTAL 38 

LAURENS COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 13 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 1 
Life 1 

Personal/Commercial 0 
Premium 5 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 1 
TOTAL 21 
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LEE COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 8 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 1 

Personal/Commercial 1 
Premium 4 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 1 
TOTAL 15 

LEXINGTON COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 37 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 2 
Life 1 

Personal/Commercial 15 
Premium 10 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 1 

Other 2 
TOTAL 68 

MARION COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 16 
Disability 1 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 0 
Premium 4 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 21 
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MARLBORO COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 15 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 1 

Personal/Commercial 0 
Premium 2 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 18 

McCORMICK COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 0 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 0 
Premium 1 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 1 

NEWBERRY COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 8 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 2 
Premium 5 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 1 

Other 0 
TOTAL 16 
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OCONEE COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 5 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 2 
Premium 3 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 10 

ORANGEBURG COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 54 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 1 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 6 
Premium 11 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 1 

Other 0 
TOTAL 73 

PICKENS COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 8 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 11 
Premium 0 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 19 
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RICHLAND COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 217 
Disability 7 

Health/Medical 14 
Life 2 

Personal/Commercial 85 
Premium 58 

Unemployment 2 
Worker’s Compensation 8 

Other 14 
TOTAL 407 

SALUDA COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 6 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 0 
Premium 1 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 7 

SPARTANBURG COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 66 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 1 

Personal/Commercial 15 
Premium 22 

Unemployment 1 
Worker’s Compensation 1 

Other 4 
TOTAL 110 
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SUMTER COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 56 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 2 
Life 3 

Personal/Commercial 15 
Premium 22 

Unemployment 1 
Worker’s Compensation 1 

Other 1 
TOTAL 101 

UNION COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 10 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 0 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 1 
Premium 1 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 12 

WILLIAMSBURG COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 17 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 1 
Life 0 

Personal/Commercial 3 
Premium 4 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 0 

Other 0 
TOTAL 25 
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YORK COUNTY 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 44 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 3 
Life 5 

Personal/Commercial 18 
Premium 10 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 5 

Other 2 
TOTAL 87 

OUT-OF-STATE / UNKNOWN 

Type of Fraud Number of Complaints 
Automobile 40 
Disability 0 

Health/Medical 3 
Life 2 

Personal/Commercial 8 
Premium 4 

Unemployment 0 
Worker’s Compensation 2 

Other 8 
TOTAL 67 
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SELECTED STATUTES FROM THE SOUTH CAROLINA CODE OF LAWS 
PERTAINING TO THE OFFENSES FOR WHICH DEFENDANTS ARE 
PROSECUTED AND CONVICTED 

§38-55-590. Annual report by Director of Insurance Fraud Division in Office of
Attorney General to General Assembly.

The Director of the Insurance Fraud Division in the Office of the Attorney General shall 
annually report to the General Assembly regarding: 

(A) the status of matters reported to the division, if not privileged information by law;

(B) the number of allegations or reports received.

(C) the number of matters referred to the State Law Enforcement Division for investigation;

(D) the outcome of all investigations and prosecutions under this article, if not privileged by
law;

(E) the total amount of fines levied by the court and paid to or deposited by the division; and

(F) patterns and practices of fraudulent insurance transactions identified in the course of
performing its duties. The director shall also periodically report this information to insurers
transacting business in this State, health maintenance organizations transacting business in
this State, and other persons, including the State of South Carolina, which provide benefits
for health care in this State, whether these benefits are administered directly or through a
third person.
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§ 38-55-530. Definitions.

As used in this article: 

(A) “Authorized agency” means any duly constituted criminal investigative department or agency
of the United States or of this State; the Department of lnsurance; the Department of Revenue; 
the Department of Public Safety; the Workers' Compensation Commission; the State Accident 
Fund; the Second Injury Fund; the Employment Security Commission; the Department of 
Consumer Affairs; the Human Affairs Commission; the Department of Health and Environmental 
Control; the Department of Social Services; the Department of Health and Human Services; the 
Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation; all other state boards, commissions, and 
agencies; the Office of the Attorney General of South Carolina; or the prosecuting  attorney of 
any judicial circuit, county, municipality, or political subdivision of this State or of the United 
States, and their respective employees or personnel acting in their official capacity. 

(B) “Insurer” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 38-1-20(25) and includes any authorized
insurer, self-insurer, reinsurer, broker, producer, or any agent thereof. 

(C) “Person” means any natural person, company, corporation, unincorporated association,
partnership, professional corporation, or other legal entity and includes any applicant, 
policyholder, claimant, medical providers, vocational rehabilitation provider, attorney, agent, 
insurer, fund, or advisory organization. 

(D) “False statement and misrepresentation” means a statement or representation made by a
person that is false, material, made with the person's knowledge of the falsity of the statement, and 
made with the intent of obtaining or causing another to obtain or attempting to obtain or causing 
another to obtain an undeserved economic advantage or benefit or made with the intent to deny or 
cause another to deny any benefit or payment in connection with an insurance transaction and such 
shall constitute fraud. 
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§ 38-55-540. Criminal penalties for making false statement or misrepresentation, or
assisting, abetting, soliciting or conspiring to do so; restitution to victims.

(A) A person who knowingly makes a false statement or misrepresentation, and any other
person knowingly, with an intent to injure, defraud, or deceive, or who assists, abets, solicits,
or conspires with a person to make a false statement or misrepresentation, is guilty of a:

(1) misdemeanor, for a first offense violation, if the amount of the economic advantage or
benefit received is less than one thousand dollars. Upon conviction, the person must be fined
not less than one hundred nor more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than
thirty days;

(2) misdemeanor, for a first offense violation, if the amount of the economic advantage or
benefit received is one thousand dollars or more but less than ten thousand dollars. Upon
conviction, the person must be fined not less than two thousand nor more than ten thousand
dollars or imprisoned not more than three years, or both;

(3) felony, for a first offense violation, if the amount of the economic advantage or benefit
received is ten thousand dollars or more but less than fifty thousand dollars. Upon conviction,
the person must be fined not less than ten thousand nor more than fifty thousand dollars or
imprisoned not more than five years, or both;

(4) felony, for a first offense violation, if the amount of the economic advantage or benefit
received is fifty thousand dollars or more. Upon conviction, the person must be fined not less
than twenty thousand nor more than one hundred thousand dollars or imprisoned not more
than ten years, or both;

(5) felony, for a second or subsequent violation, regardless of the amount of the economic
advantage or benefit received. Upon conviction, the person must be fined not less than
twenty thousand nor more than one hundred thousand dollars or imprisoned not more than
ten years, or both.

(B) In addition to the criminal penalties set forth in subsection (A), a person convicted
pursuant to the provisions of this section must be ordered by the court to make full
restitution to a victim for any economic advantage or benefit which has been obtained by the
person as a result of that violation, and to pay the difference between any taxes owed and
any taxes the person paid, if applicable.
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SECTION 38-55-170. Presenting false claims for payment. 

A person who knowingly causes to be presented a false claim for payment to an insurer 
transacting business in this State, to a health maintenance organization transacting business in 
this State, or to any person, including the State of South Carolina, providing benefits for 
health care in this State, whether these benefits are administered directly or through a third 
person, or who knowingly assists, solicits, or conspires with another to present a false claim 
for payment as described above, is guilty of a: 

(1) felony if the amount of the claim is ten thousand dollars or more. Upon conviction, the
person must be imprisoned not more than ten years or fined not more than five thousand
dollars, or both;

(2) felony if the amount of the claim is more than two thousand dollars but less than ten
thousand dollars. Upon conviction, the person must be fined in the discretion of the court
or imprisoned not more than five years, or both;

(3) misdemeanor triable in magistrates court or municipal court, notwithstanding the
provisions of Sections 22-3-540, 22-3-545, 22-3-550, and 14-25-65, if the amount of the
claim is two thousand dollars or less. Upon conviction, the person must be fined not
more than one thousand dollars, or imprisoned not more than thirty days, or both.

§ 38-55-550. Civil penalties for violations of article; costs; payment; use of revenues;
Attorney General to assist Insurance Fraud Division; consent agreements.

(A) In addition to any criminal liability, any person who is found by a court of competent
jurisdiction to have violated any provision of this article, including Section 38-55-170, is
subject to a civil penalty for each violation as follows:

(I) for a first offense, a fine not to exceed five thousand dollars;
(2) for a second offense, a fine of not less than five thousand dollars but not to exceed ten

thousand dollars; 
(3) for a third and subsequent offense, a fine of not less than ten thousand dollars but not to

exceed fifteen thousand dollars. 
(B) The civil penalty must be paid to the director of the Insurance Fraud Division to be used

in
accordance with subsection (D) of this section. The court may also award court costs and 
reasonable attorneys' fees to the director. When requested by the director, the Attorney 
General may assign one or more deputies attorneys general to assist the bureau in any civil 
court proceedings against the person. 
(C) Nothing in subsections (A) and (B) shall be construed to prohibit the director of the
Insurance Fraud Division and the person alleged to be guilty of a violation of this article
from entering into a written agreement in which the person does not admit or deny the
charges but consents to payment of the civil penalty. A consent agreement may not be used
in a subsequent civil or criminal proceeding relating to any violation of this article.
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(D) All revenues from the civil penalties imposed pursuant to this section must be used to provide
funds for the costs of enforcing and administering the provisions of this article.

§ 38-43-240. Other offenses by producers.

(A) It is unlawful for a producer, collector, or other person to:

(1) undertake or pretend to represent an insurer licensed to do business in this State, or to
collect or do business for the insurer without the authority of the insurer;

(2) secure cash advances by false statements; or

(3) fail to turn over or satisfactorily account for all collections of the insurer when required.

(B) A person who violates the provisions of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and,
upon conviction, must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not more than
two years.

§ 16-11-110. Arson.

(A) A person who wilfully and maliciously causes an explosion, sets fire to, burns, or causes
to be burned or aids, counsels, or procures a burning that results in damage to a building,
structure, or any property specified in subsections (B) and (C), whether the property of the
person or another, which results, either directly or indirectly, in death or serious bodily injury
to a person is guilty of the felony of arson in the first degree and, upon conviction, must be
imprisoned not less than thirty years.

(B) A person who wilfully and maliciously causes an explosion, sets fire to, burns, or causes
to be burned or aids, counsels, or procures a burning that results in damage to a dwelling
house, church or place of worship, public or private school facility, manufacturing plant or
warehouse, building where business is conducted, institutional facility, or any structure
designed for human occupancy including local and municipal buildings, whether the property
of the person or another, is guilty of the felony of arson in the second degree and, upon
conviction, must be imprisoned not less than three nor more than twenty-five years.

(C) A person commits a violation of the provisions of this subsection who wilfully and
maliciously:

(1) causes an explosion, sets fire to, burns, or causes a burning which results in damage to a
building or structure other than those specified in subsections (A) and (B}, a railway car, a
ship, boat, or other watercraft, an aircraft, an automobile or other motor vehicle, or personal
property; or

(2) aids, counsels, or procures a burning that results in damage to a building or structure other
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than those specified in subsections (A) and (B), a railway car, a ship, boat, or other 
watercraft, an aircraft, an automobile or other motor vehicle, or personal property with intent 
to destroy or damage by explosion or fire, whether the property of the person or another. 

A person who violates the provisions of this subsection is guilty of the felony of arson in the 
third degree and, upon conviction, must be imprisoned not more than fifteen years. 

(D) For purposes of this section, “damage” means an application of fire or explosive that
results in burning, charring, blistering, scorching, smoking, singeing, discoloring, or
changing the fiber or composition of a building, structure, or any property specified in this
section.

§ 16-13-10. Forgery.

(A) It is unlawful for a person to:

(1) falsely make, forge, or counterfeit; cause or procure to be falsely made, forged, or
counterfeited; or wilfully act or assist in the false making, forging, or counterfeiting of any
writing or instrument of writing;

(2) utter or publish as true any false, forged, or counterfeited writing or instrument of writing;

(3) falsely make, forge, counterfeit, alter, change, deface, or erase; or cause or procure to be
falsely made, forged, counterfeited, altered, changed, defaced, or erased any record or plat of
land; or

(4) willingly act or assist in any of the premises, with an intention to defraud any person.

(B) A person who violates the provisions of this section is guilty of a:

(1) felony and, upon conviction, must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not
more than ten years, or both, if the amount of the forgery is ten thousand dollars or more;

(2) felony and, upon conviction, must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not
more than five years, or both, if the amount of the forgery is less than ten thousand dollars.

(C) If the forgery does not involve a dollar amount, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor
under the jurisdiction of the magistrates or municipal court, notwithstanding the provisions
of Sections 22-3-540, 22-3-545, 22-3-550, and 14-25-65, and, upon conviction, must be fined
in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not more than three years, or both.
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§ 16-17-722. Filing of false police reports; knowledge; offense; penalties.

(A) It is unlawful for a person to knowingly file a false police report.

(8) A person who violates subsection (A) by falsely reporting a felony is guilty of a felony
and upon conviction must be imprisoned for not more than five years or fined not more than
one thousand dollars, or both.

(C) A person who violates subsection (A) by falsely reporting a misdemeanor is guilty of a
misdemeanor and must be imprisoned not more than thirty days or fined not more than five
hundred dollars, or both.

(D) In imposing a sentence under this section, the judge may require the offender to pay
restitution to the investigating agency to offset costs incurred in investigating the false police
report.

§ 16-11-125. Making false claim or statement in support of claim to obtain insurance benefits for
fire or explosion loss.

Any person who wilfully and knowingly presents or causes to be presented a false or 
fraudulent claim, or any proof in support of such claim, for the payment of a fire loss or loss 
caused by an explosion, upon any contract of insurance or certificate of insurance which 
includes benefits for such a loss, or prepares, makes, or subscribes to a false or fraudulent 
account, certificate, affidavit, or proof of loss, or other documents or writing, with intent that 
such documents may be presented or used in support of such claim, is guilty of a felony and, 
upon conviction, must be fined not more than ten thousand dollars or imprisoned for not 
more than five years or both in the discretion of the court. 

The provisions of this section are supplemental to and not in lieu of existing law relating to 
falsification of documents and penalties therefor. 

§ 38-43-245. Fraudulent insurance application.

A licensed insurance producer who, with the intent to injure, defraud, or deceive any 
insurance company or applicant for insurance: 

(1) presents or causes to be presented to any insurance company an application for
insurance, knowing that the application contains any false or misleading information or
omissions concerning any fact or thing material to the underwriting of the insurance for
which the application is submitted, or

(2) assists, abets, solicits, or conspires with another to prepare or make an application for
insurance, knowing that the application contains any false or misleading information or
omissions concerning any fact or thing material to the underwriting of the insurance for which
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the applicant is submitted, is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction, must be punished by 
imprisonment for not more than five years or a fine not to exceed five thousand dollars, or 
both. 

§ 38-55-580. Immunity from liability arising out of providing information concerning false
statements or misrepresentations to authorized agency; malice or bad faith.

(A) A person, insurer, or authorized agency, when acting without malice or in good faith, is
immune from any liability arising out of filing reports, cooperating with investigations by
any authorized agency, or furnishing other information, whether written or oral, and whether
in response to a request by an authorized agency or upon their own initiative, concerning any
suspected, anticipated, or completed false statement or misrepresentation when such reports
or information are provided to or received by any authorized agency.

(B) Nothing herein abrogates or modifies in any way common law or statutory privilege or
immunity heretofore enjoyed by any person, insurer, or authorized agency.

(C) Nothing herein limits the liability of any person or insurer who, with malice or in bad
faith, makes a report of suspected fraud under the provisions of this article.

(D) In addition to the immunity granted in this section, persons identified as designated
employees whose responsibilities include the investigation and disposition of claims relating
to suspected fraudulent insurance acts may share information relating to persons suspected
of committing fraudulent insurance acts with other designated employees employed by the
same or other insurers whose responsibilities include the investigation and disposition of
claims relating to fraudulent insurance acts, provided the department has been given written
notice of the names and job titles of these designated employees prior to any designated
employee sharing information. Unless the designated employees of the insurer act in bad
faith or in reckless disregard for the rights of any insured, neither the insurer nor its
designated employees are civilly liable for libel, slander, or any other relevant tort, and a civil
action does not arise against the insurer or its designated employees:

(1) for any information related to suspected fraudulent insurance acts provided to an insurer;
or

(2) for information related to suspected fraudulent insurance acts provided to the National
Insurance Crime Bureau or the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

Provided, however, that the qualified immunity against civil liability conferred on any 
insurer or its designated employees shall be forfeited with respect to the exchange or 
publication of any defamatory information with third persons not expressly authorized by 
subsection (D) to share in such information. 
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